Welcome to Directorate of Arecanut and Spices Development

Nursery practices for Dill

Dill (Anethum sowa Roxb) belongs to the family Apiaceae and is grown for its herb and seeds. Dill is a minor seed spice, which contain oil (2.5 to 3.5%) and is mainly used as medicine. Two types of dill are under cultivation viz. European dill (Anethum graveolens L) and Indian dill or sowa (Anethum sowa Roxb). European dill is indigenous to Europe and is cultivated in England, Germany, Romania, Turkey, USA and the erstwhile USSR. Indian dill is grown in the states of Rajasthan, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Andhra Pradesh for its seeds, which are used for the extraction of oil and are exported as such to earn foreign exchange. Rajasthan shares 48% of total dill production. Chittorgarh, Nimbahera, Jhalawar, Udaipur , Kota and Bundi are the main dill producing districts of Rajasthan.Read More>>

Varieties of Dill